Reviews Banner
September Deals - SHOP NOW
View our 2018 BESTSELLERS
Buy Backpacker TRAVEL INSURANCE

Reviews

Most useful first | Newest first  
87 results found
Show results 1 - 25
Apr 24, 2016
I've used this backpack for trips in Europe and will soon be using it for a trip to Thailand. This backpack is a great product for the price, although I was sceptical when it arrived as it did look small on then inside and considering I am plus size I doubted I would be able to get 2 weeks worth of clothes inside, boy was I surprised the central compartments held everything I needed for my two week trip, including extras and it was a very hardy bag considering the weight I had placed in it. All my items felt secure and the side strap and flight cover make it easy to carry when you don't want to use the back straps.

Advantages: Has a handy removable daypack that has a lot of little pockets for money, passports, keys and those bits you want to keep safe. Can be easily locked with padlocks and includes numerous hidden pockets, I didn't even realise until half way through my trip, perfect for hiding valuables. Inside has a drawstring cover for clothes to keep them dry and secure and straps can be extended for the bigger person. I'm 6ft and I was worried about having the bag halfway down my back, but the straps can be altered either higher or lower to fit your height. All that and its a funky purple colour making it very appealing :)

Disadvantages: Can be a little difficult to zip the daypack to the main pack but it does have clips to do the same if your in a rush apart from that it's a great bag !
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (23) / No (0)
Jan 9, 2016
A warning to anyone who chooses the Highlander Trekker Superlite sleeping bag for its very low weight advertised at 480 grams. This is incorrect as it really weighs 585 grams, contrary to the information on the website and labels. It is misleading marketing to attract customers .


GAPYEAR STORE TEAM: “Thank you for your feedback. We're sorry you feel our description of the product is misleading, we always state the specifications provided by the manufacturer for any product listed on our website. In the case of this sleeping bag, the manufacturer has specified a weight of 480g. It is worth noting that all sleeping bags have a 10% tolerance for the filling, so in some cases, the weight may be 10% heavier or 10% lighter. We have weighed a number of the Trekker Superlite sleeping bag on our scales to test this and can confirm that some came in under the 480g weight and some were over.”

Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (23) / No (6)
Oct 9, 2015
Useful kit for spring/summer use although it's useable in autumn/winter with a bivy bag

Advantages: Lightweight, minimal pack size

Disadvantages: No disadvantages yet, see what it's like after a year in use
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (11) / No (1)
Oct 12, 2015
My daughter has taken this sleeping bag travelling with her to Australia. She has loved it so far and would recommend it to all backpackers visiting hot countries.

Advantages: Light and small. Perfect for backpacking as it takes up next to no room at all. Thin so it is a nice cover but don't get too hot in the boiling Australian nights!

Disadvantages: None so far!
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (10) / No (1)
May 31, 2016
This bag is great, I've been using it for small trips and am heading around the world in two months and I am so excited to use it! It's so comfortable, I've been pleasantly surprised!

Advantages: The cover for the straps is really effective. I've had bags in the past which have broken as the straps have been damaged when I travel. However, due to the cover this has not been an issue when using this bag. The daypack is also brilliant. I know many bags have this however, this one is just as comfortable and well designed as the main bag.

Disadvantages: Other bags have more straps on the outer layer of the bag so extras can be attached. This bag doesn't have these which is more restrictive.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (9) / No (2)
Jacqueline McCluskey about  Caribee Fast Track 75 Black Wheeled Backpack:
Jul 15, 2014
Great bag very sturdy and handy having 2 compartments and detachable day pack. One of the few bags with wheels and handle that also has a waist strap, which is essential if carrying on your back.

Advantages: Large wheels and handle make it very easy to pull along. Waist strap makes it possible to carry on your back without excess pressure on your shoulders.

Disadvantages: Bag quite heavy and rather bulky when carried on your back when both bags are full.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (8) / No (0)
Jul 8, 2015
My first ever sleeping bag. Took a long time to decide on which one to go for but finally went for this one. I'm glad I did. Was nice and warm for two camping trips. One in May in Dorset and the other at the beginning of June in Snowdonia. I wanted a fairly lightweight one so wasn't able to go for a more rectangular sleeping bag but equally didn't want a restrictive mummy shaped bag. This was a nice compromise and my legs and feet didn't feel too restricted. I am 5 foot 10 and it was very comfy. I think the bug stopper mesh features are great too. Had a nice little bag that you can reverse with a fleecy lining that you can use as a pillow too. Was lovely and soft inside the bag too.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (8) / No (0)
Aug 5, 2014
Really happy with this rucksack, lots of pockets and separate compartments to store stuff in. Can't wait to use it for my year away in Australia!

Advantages: Seems comfy on the hips and shoulders with good padding.
Lots of zips and compartments to keep items organised.
Nice colours (green and black)

Disadvantages: Rather heavy!
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (6) / No (0)
Tania Barnes about  Travel Sick Bags x 6:
May 18, 2016
These bags are a lifesaver ! They not only saved me some dignity but prevented me from redecorating The cabin on my 14 hour flight to Bangkok when the airline didn't have any to hand. Whilst landing (when your not allowed out of your seat) we hit turbulence making the plane rattle and causing me to become very nautious, having found no sick bags and not being able to leave my seat it was a stroke of luck I had packed this packet of bags into my hand luggage.

Advantages: Lined and waterproof so no worry about leakages especially in circumstances when you can throw it away straight away, small and foldable can be put anywhere in your bag, pocket or folded up inside your passport holder / document wallet, saves the worry of wondering where the bathroom is and any embarrassing stares from other passengers ;) The bags are strong and durable

Disadvantages: None that I have come across so far
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (6) / No (0)
Thomas Crewe about  Trespass Bath Size Travel Towel:
Oct 31, 2014
Fantastic fold-out size. Soft comfortable materials. Fold away into a relatively small bag. Easy to fold the towel to fit into the bag.

Advantages: Large towel for easy drying.

Disadvantages: Slightly larger when folded than other options.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (6) / No (1)
Aug 25, 2016
After much research, this was marketed as THE luggage for the adventurous. Built to last with quality materials and craftsmanship. . . I purchased two. A few weeks into our six month Central America trip the bottom corners were frayed and tearing on one case. A clip had fallen off the rucksack on the other. I emailed from holiday to report this. Now having returned I have been told this is normal wear and tear and is not covered under the warranty. Hang on - we had 21 kg of luggage and yes we were not on smooth tarmac all the time, but surely the fabric should hold up. And after a few weeks??? So now I have a bag that I don't feel I can use on our next trip. Caribee offered me £20 goodwill. It doesn't even go part way to cover the cost of another case. So disappointed. So frustrated. I had an Eastpak on a similar type of trip with no issues.

Disadvantages: Did not hold up to the claims.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (6) / No (0)
Jul 21, 2014
I bought this backpack for my granddaughter who was flying to Malawi with a group of medical students. Rucksacks are prone to damage in transit and mine was too large for her to carry. This one proved to be an excellent purchase at a very reasonable cost. It was easy to pack and secure. I did buy a rucksack cover as well which was a good investment, making it easier for handling at the airport.

Advantages: This is a reasonable size and very well constructed. It has strong zips which can be padlocked. The detachable day sack is very handy for everyday use, but the best feature is the ability to conceal the harness behind a zipped cover protecting the straps etc. from damage.

Disadvantages: None , but a luggage label window would be a useful addition.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (5) / No (0)
Jackie Johns about  Deluxe Money Belt:
Nov 5, 2014
Lightweight, comfortable money belt - just the right size to easily carry passport and different currencies

Advantages: Two seperate compartments which are ideal when carrying different currencies.
Big enough to hold passport and travel documents too. Comfortable to wear. Elastic strap also makes it easy to access
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (5) / No (0)
Jul 21, 2014
I was very disappointed. I bought the rucksack as its supposed to be Ladies fit, but even with the straps adjusted as short as they would go, they were still way too big for me. I've tried unisex rucksacks that adjust smaller. Not as good quality as I'd expected either, but I guess you get what you pay for.

GAPYEAR STORE TEAM: “Hi, We’re sorry to hear that this backpack wasn’t what you expected, we take customer comments very seriously and use your feedback to improve the information provided on our website. As you have pointed out, this size of the Highlander Explorer would be unsuitable for the more petite traveller, so we generally wouldn’t recommend anything more than 60+20 litres in size for shorter users. We also should’ve have made it clearer that this backpack isn’t fitted with a female specific back system, and it is purely the colour way which earns it it’s ‘ladies’ classification. Thank you for bringing these points to our attention, we will endeavour to amend the description ASAP. We’ve actually used your comments to improve the information on each of our backpacks and rucksacks, with a new ‘back system fit’ field in the specifications, this specifies if the back system is designed for men, women or is unisex.”



Advantages: Loads of space and very easy to pack. Loads of useful interior pockets and straps to hold items secure. Probably works well for someone needing a big rucksack that is at least 3 inches taller than me (I'm just 5 foot tall).

Disadvantages: Couldn't adjust the straps to be small enough to fit me, so the straps didn't sit on my shoulders when it was sat on my hips, hence it was very unstable and gave me backache just in the few minutes I tried it out when it was full.

Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (4) / No (0)
Nov 2, 2014
This towel is awesome its really lightweight, folds down small to fit in the pouch provided, and you can wring it out until its almost dry! #greatbuy

Advantages: Lightweight, Compact, easy dry, comes with bag, doesnt smell
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (4) / No (1)
Feb 2, 2018
Ok so this baby is amazing!! I didn't expect that kind of quality, it looks great is really functional and warm. It packs down really small, especially if you compress it a little bit more and it's light, I checked and it's exactly 1300g. I felt really comfortable inside and I am 6 ft, especially in the end of bag where you have a lot of space for your legs, not like in mummy bags. It has pockets and an anti-insect net, but my favourite feature is the reversible bag, which you can use as a pillow. Now I understand why this bag was awarded can't wait to use it!
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (4) / No (0)
Apr 17, 2018
As small and light as expected. Good price too - about the quality, I don't expect it to last too long but for that price, that's no worry.

This was a last minute purchase before a trip and the dispatch and delivery times were incredibly fast.

Advantages: Lightweight, small size, good for light traveling

Disadvantages: Might not be as sturdy as something more expensive and will need to be treated with more care.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (4) / No (0)
Sophie Henwood about  Trespass Bath Size Travel Towel:
Oct 31, 2014
Great towel, really big and folds up into a small, easy to carry bag. Very lightweight and is perfect for my travels!

Advantages: Small when folded, handy, has an anti bacterial layer to prevent smelling, nice colour
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (3) / No (1)
Amanda Tredgett about  Trespass Bath Size Travel Towel:
Oct 31, 2014
Small and flat, ideal for backpackers.

Advantages: Generous bath towel size.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (3) / No (0)
Laurence Smith about  Trespass Bath Size Travel Towel:
Oct 31, 2014
A neccessity for any gapper.Good size, lightweight and most importantly very quick drying.

Advantages: Full body sized towel
Light and compact, with useful holder.
Fast drying

Disadvantages: None so far.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (3) / No (1)
Nov 27, 2014
Great bag! Love the colour and the overall look.

Advantages: Bag is easy to spot. Very handy with detachable 20l bag as it is perfect to use as carry on and surprisingly fits a lot!

Disadvantages: Would be great if the bag zipped the whole way down. However the bag is also accessible from the bottom so that helps.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (3) / No (1)
Feb 24, 2015
Perfect travel towel. Funky pattern unlike most standard one-colour microfibre towels. Definitely a must have wherever you are going.

Advantages: This super soft towel packs down really small but is infact rather large in size - perfect if you're trying to save room when packing lots into a travel backpack or suitcase. It is lightweight and dries very quickly so does not smell of damp if put in a bag shortly after use - unlike standard beach/bath towels. It could also be used as a sarong.

Disadvantages: Although I love this zebra towel, it would be beneficial if there were other styles available.

Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (3) / No (0)
Oct 5, 2015
Very good bag, packs really small which is fantastic. Used it in summer in Portugal and indoors in Ireland and it was perfect. Love that the bottom unzips separate to main zip as hate my feet being too warm.

Advantages: small size

Disadvantages: folded-up mosquito net is bulky and in your face at night
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (3) / No (0)
Aug 8, 2017
Amazing bag!!!! I looked for months on end to find the right bag for backpacking, but without having to carry it around if there's good terrain or without having difficulty finding things which is perfect with the suitcase style opening (also amazing to pack)! I also have a difficult time with packing light so the bigger the better and this was the biggest I found in a backpack. I literally cannot fault this bag! It has so far been to Africa with me, and it's soon to go around Europe, Asia and Australia and I'm confident it will withstand the elements. It's extremely well made, I love how the backpack straps (which includes a padded hip strap) can be zipped away so you can use it as a suitcase and also so the straps don't get trapped on conveyor belts at airports, there's enough pockets to put the little things in with plenty of room which also saves valuable space! Well worth the money!! I love this bag! Couldn't believe I found one with everything on my tick list!

Advantages: Can be used as backpack or suitcase.
All the straps are padded so it's extremely comfortable.
It's big and easy to pack and also find things.
The handle had 2 different height options
Compartments
Straps to hold your stuff in place.

Disadvantages: The flap which unzips to the backpack straps, when opened to carry it on your back has no where to be put so it flaps about when you're carrying it. Not really that bad but it's the only fault!!
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (3) / No (0)
Aug 30, 2017
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Probably the worst thing ever invented. I read lots of good reviews about this but I have no idea why.

Advantages: Easy to pack back up

Disadvantages: It's huge - if your bag is anything less than 110L it renders the bag useless. There's no way to reduce the size so you're left with a huge amount of extra space at the top. The carry strap is pointless, I am 5ft tall and to use the carry strap for this I would have to be over 6ft to get my bag off the ground, that's even if the material takes it due to excess as my 80L bag doesn't fill it. The other carry straps aren't useful either. All in all a waste of money.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (3) / No (3)